Shawna Kelly named school psychologist of the year

shawna rader kelly

UM grad honored

The National Association of School Psychologists has named Shawna Rader Kelly as the 2017 School Psychologist of the Year.

Kelly is a school psychologist in the Bozeman Public Schools, where she has worked for 12 years, 10 of which at Bozeman High School. She provides direct services to students, such as learning assessments, academic interventions, and counseling, as well as providing building and district level leadership. Rader Kelly leads the school multitiered systems of support implementation team and has colead the district-wide crisis response team that responds to classroom, school, building, and district-level crises.

She was the lead developer of the district’s nonsuicidal self-injury protocol to evaluate self-harming behaviors.
Kelly obtained her Educational Specialist degree in School Psychology from the University of Montana, Missoula. She also obtained her Master’s Degree in School Psychology from the University of Montana and her Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology and Sociology (double major with Justice Studies Emphasis) from the Montana State University in Bozeman.

In addition to her work in Bozeman public schools, Kelly is an educational consultant for the Montana Office of Public Instruction and a Credentialing Specialist and Supervision Institute Coordinator at the University of Montana at Missoula. An important focus for her work is to support the role of school psychologists in the state.

She provides training for school psychology supervisors as well as supervision for university interns, and she is actively involved with grants to support recruitment and retention of school psychologists within the state.

The National Association of School Psychologists represents 25,000 school psychologists throughout the United States andabroad. NASP empowers school psychologists by advancing effective practices to improve students' learning, behavior, and mental health. Further information about school psychology, NASP, and our School Psychologist of the Year is available

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published