Montana Shakespeare in the Parks to perform summer tour

Posted on 04 May 2016

Montana Shakespeare in the Parks to perform “Richard III” and “The Comedy of Errors” during summer tour

 

Montana Shakespeare in the Parks will perform William Shakespeare’s “Richard III” and “The Comedy of Errors” during its upcoming summer tour of 61 communities throughout Montana, northern Wyoming, eastern Idaho, western North Dakota and eastern Washington.
 
The company features 10 professional actors selected from national auditions who tour without technical assistance to bring live theatre to mostly rural communities. This summer, 66 percent of the communities reached by the troupe have populations of 5,000 or fewer.
 
“We are very much looking forward to producing both plays this summer,” said Kevin Asselin, executive artistic director. “This will be the first time in MSIP’s 44-year history that we’ll bring “Richard III” to our stage. “Richard” will fit right into what is already an active political year, reminding us how Shakespeare stays relevant even 400 years after his death.  We are also excited to announce that this season will be dedicated to all of our hard working and dedicated tour coordinators from across the region!”
 
Asselin will direct “Richard III,” while Chris Duval, a University of Utah professor with many credits at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, will direct “The Comedy of Errors,” which the company hasn’t performed since 2002.
 
All performances, with the exception of those at Bozeman’s Sweet Pea Festival, are free and open to the public. Audiences are encouraged to arrive early with chairs, blankets and picnics.
 
Montana Shakespeare in the Parks is an outreach program of Montana State University’s College of Arts and Architecture. Grants, corporate sponsorships and hundreds of individual donors support the free performances.
 
Major sponsors include the National Endowment for the Arts: Artworks, The Gilhousen Family Foundation, The Gianforte Family Foundation, Pheasant Farms, Subaru of America, Spectec: Thunderbird International Corporation, Montana Arts Council, Community First Fund of Montana, Barnard Construction, NorthWestern Energy, D.A. Davidson and Company, KBZK, the MSU Alumni Foundation, and Yellowstone Public Radio.
 
For more information on the plays and a complete tour schedule, visit the company’s website: www.shakespeareintheparks.org. The full tour schedule is also listed below.
 
2016 Tour Schedule
 
Wednesday, June 15, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, Richard III - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Thursday, June 16, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, Richard III - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Friday, June 17, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, Richard III - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Saturday, June 18, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, Richard III - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, The Comedy of Errors - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Thursday, June 23, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, The Comedy of Errors - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Friday, June 24, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, The Comedy of Errors - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Saturday, June 25, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, The Comedy of Errors - 8:00p – MSU Grove
Monday, June 27, 2016 – Hobson/Utica, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Utica Women’s Clubhouse Lawn
Tuesday, June 28, 2016 – Lewistown, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Pine Meadows Golf Course
Wednesday, June 29, 2016 – Conrad, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Conrad City Park
Thursday, June 30, 2016 – Malta, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Court House Lawn
 
Friday, July 1, 2016 – Wolf Point, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Faith Home Park
Saturday, July 2, 2016 – Beach, ND, Richard III – 6:30p – Beach Swimming Pool Park
Sunday, July 3, 2016 – Ekalaka, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Nursing Home Lawn
Tuesday, July 5, 2016 – Miles City, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Pumping Plant Park
Wednesday, July 6, 2016 – Glendive, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 7:00p – Makoshika Park Amphitheater
Thursday, July 7, 2016 – Sidney, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Veteran’s Memorial Pavilion
Friday, July 8, 2016 – Forsyth, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Rosebud County Courthouse Lawn
Saturday, July 9, 2016 – Birney, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Poker Jim Butte
Sunday, July 10, 2016 – Sheridan, WY, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Kendrick Park Band Shell
Monday, July 11, 2016 – Chico Hot Springs, Pray, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Chico Main Lawn
Tuesday, July 12, 2016 – Roundup, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Roundup City Park
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 – Absarokee, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Fishtail Family Park
Friday, July 15, 2016 – Red Lodge, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Lions Park
Saturday, July 16, 2016 – Silver Gate-Cooke City, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Silver Gate Park
Sunday, July 17, 2016 – Gardiner, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – High School Football Field
Monday, July 18, 2016 – Powell, WY, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Washington Park
Tuesday, July 19, 2016 – Cody, WY, Richard III – 6:30p – Canal Park
Wednesday, July 20, 2016 – Worland, WY, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Sanders Park
Thursday, July 21, 2016 – Billings, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Pioneer Park
Friday, July 22, 2016 – Billings, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Pioneer Park
Saturday, July 23, 2016 – Hardin, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – South Park
Sunday, July 24, 2016 – Big Timber, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Lions Club Park
Monday, July 25, 2016 – Dillon, MT, Richard III – 6:30p – Jaycee Park
Tuesday, July 26, 2016 – Thayne, WY, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Community Center Lawn
Wednesday, July 27, 2016 – Driggs, ID, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – Driggs City Center Plaza (60 S Main)
Thursday, July 28, 2016 – Pocatello, ID, The Comedy of Errors – 6:30p – ISU Quad
Friday, July 29, 2016 – Pocatello, ID, Richard III – 6:30p – ISU Quad
Saturday, July 30, 2016 – West Yellowstone, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – West Yellowstone School Football Field
Sunday, July 31, 2016 – Townsend, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Heritage Park
 
Monday, August 1, 2016 – Laurel, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Laurel Practice Football Field
Tuesday, August 2, 2016 – Boulder, MT, Richard III – 6:30p - Fairgrounds
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 – Cut Bank, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Cut Bank City Park
Thursday, August 4, 2016 – Fort Benton, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Ft. Benton City Park
Friday, August 5, 2016 – Sweet Pea Festival, Bozeman, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 4:00p – The Hollow at Lindley Park
*Admission is charged to attend the Sweet Pea Festival
Sunday, August 7, 2016 – Sweet Pea Festival, Bozeman, MT, Richard III – 5:00p – The Hollow at Lindley Park
*Admission is charged to attend the Sweet Pea Festival
Monday, August 8, 2016 – Helena, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Pioneer Park
Tuesday, August 9, 2016 – Helena, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Pioneer Park
Wednesday, August 10, 2016 – Hamilton, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Sapphire Lutheran Homes
Thursday, August 11, 2016 – Salmon, ID, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Sacajawea Center Amphitheater
Friday, August 12, 2016 – Anaconda, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Washoe Park
Saturday, August 13, 2016 – Philipsburg, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Winninghoff Park
Sunday, August 14, 2016 – Charlo, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Palmer Park
Monday, August 15, 2016 – Deer Lodge, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Old Prison Grounds
Tuesday, August 16, 2016 – Superior, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Mineral County Fairgrounds
Wednesday, August 17, 2016 – Plains, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Sanders County Fairgrounds
Thursday, August 18, 2016 – Trout Creek, MT, The Comedy of Errors - 6:00p – Trout Creek Park
Friday, August 19, 2016 – Spokane, WA, Richard III – 5:30p – Lilac Meadow Riverfront Park
Saturday, August 20, 2016 – Liberty Lake, WA, The Comedy of Errors – 5:00p – Pavilion Park
Sunday, August 21, 2016 – Sandpoint, ID, Richard III – 6:00p – Bonner County Fairgrounds
Monday, August 22, 2016 – Libby, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Elementary Amphitheater 
Tuesday, August 23, 2016 – Eureka, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Historical Village
Wednesday, August 24, 2016 – Kalispell, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Flathead Valley Community College
Thursday, August 25, 2016 – OFF
Friday, August 26, 2016 – Seeley Lake, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Double Arrow Lodge Grounds
Saturday, August 27, 2016 – Great Falls, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – University of GF Campus
Sunday, August 28, 2016 – Great Falls, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – University of GF Campus
Monday, August 29, 2016 – Missoula, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – The Oval at University of Montana
Tuesday, August 30, 2016 – Missoula, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – The Oval at University of Montana
Wednesday, August 31, 2016 – Whitehall, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – 206 Yellowstone Rd
 
Thursday, September 1, 2016 – Butte, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Original Mine Yard
Friday, September 2, 2016 – Big Sky, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 5:30p – Town Center Park
Saturday, September 3, 2016 – Livingston, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 6:00p – Shane Center Parking Lot
Sunday, September 4, 2016 – Bozeman, MT, Richard III – 3:30p – MSU Family & Graduate Housing Lawn
Monday, September 5, 2016 – Belgrade, MT, The Comedy of Errors – 3:30p – Lewis & Clark Park
Tuesday, September 6, 2016 – Manhattan, MT, Richard III – 6:00p – Altenbrand Park
 

SHOP MONTANA ARTISTS



More Posts

0 comments

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

Search our store